2009 Award – Peter Bastone ’80

Peter Bastone ’80 was the recipient of the Princeton Club of Orange County’s third service award, presented at the club’s annual dinner on November 5, 2009 at the Newport Harbor Yacht Club in Newport Beach, CA.

Reflecting the university’s motto – “In the Nation’s Service and in the Service of All Nations” – the award is presented each year to a deserving individual living in Orange County who has demonstrated a commitment to serving our country. That service can represent efforts on a local, regional, national or global level.

For the last 13 years, Peter has served as President and Chief Executive Officer of Mission Hospital, where he is directly responsible for providing leadership, accountability, coordination, and communication consistent with tradition of the Sisters of St. Joseph of Orange by continually improving the health and quality of life of people in the communities they serve. Under Peter’s leadership, Mission Hospital has received numerous awards for quality of care and service to the community.

Peter serves on the board of a number of local and state organizations, has been involved with the Boy Scouts of America, Summer Olympic Games Organizing Committee, and serves on the JSerra High School Board of Trustees. In service to Princeton, Peter has been a long-time member of the Alumni Schools Committee here in Orange County and Princeton’s National School Committee. Peter is a member of the Princeton Club of Orange County, and serves as Vice President of the Princeton Football Association.

The 2009 Tiger Tribute dinner was the club’s largest event in recent history, with more than 60 alumni, current students and Princeton parents attending. The evening also included a presentation on “Political Bubbles” by Professor Nolan McCarty, the associate dean of Princeton’s Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs.

Karen Ketchum ’84, Ed Thurber ’62 and Ann Thurber

Carter Greenbaum ’12, Jodi Greenbaum P’12, Jennifer Sakioka ’08, Martin Greenbaum P’12 and Katlin Poladian ’12

Nazanin Saedi ’03, Joe Dolan ’07 and Michael Eidam ’96

Professor Nolan McCarty, Larry Van Pelt ’80 and Linda Van Pelt

Professor Nolan McCarty and Chris Looney ’95

Chris Looney ’95 and award recipient Peter Bastone ’80

Antoinette Philips and Roger Philips ’67

Amit Lal ’88, Rachna Lal, Mary Ann Poladian P’12 & P’14, Katlin Poladian ’12

Roger Philips ’67, Katlin Poladian ’12, Professor Nolan McCarty and Carter Greenbaum ’12

Chris Looney ’95 and Chris Porter ’98